creating a ddf to control fluorescent tube lights and leds' (which are not dmx lights)

• I am really new to this dmx system and does not have any
    prior knowledge about it. i have been assigned to do a project to
    control fluorescent tube lights and set of led's to be
    controlled using the DMXControl 2.11 software using wireless techniques.
    As in the devices section they don't have separate device for a single
    fluorescent
    tube light i have to make a ddf for that. Initial i just want to switch
    off/on the lights using the DMXControl interface.

Any help to create this ddf is much appreciated as i did not understand
    the exact concept of making the ddf even after going through a manual.

Thank you!!!

• Hi and welcome in this forum,
    how many DMX-channels are supported by your flourescent tube lights and the LED-lights? If they have only one channel each, you can use the "generic dimmer"-DDF. One task of a DDF in DMXControl is to specify the type of every channel. Devices with complex channel configurations (e.g. moving heads) often need specific DDFs, but with only one dimmer-channel and no other channels, the standard "generic dimmer"-DDF is the best to use :).

hint: to differentiate between different light types in the graphical view, there is the opprtunity to change the shown device icons by right clicking onto the device => "configure" => "change picture".
    Regards
    JP

im Falle eines Falles klebt Gaffa einfach alles, denn Gaffa ist dein Freund und Helfer :thumbup:

Edited once, last by JPK ().

• THANK YOU very much for the kind reply!!!!

To be honest i don't understand the whole channel concept. But after the reading i did on it i think im going to use one channel.

Can u please explain me how to decide on number of channels. As i only need to switch on/off the lights for now one channel is enough for it ryt???