Connecting DMXcontrol 3.2.1 to midi sequencer

• Hello,

I'm relatively new to this and trying to set up DMXcontrol 3.2.1 and link it to a midi sequencer (f.e. Ableton live) to run my lightshow from there.

1. I have already linked the lights through a USB to DMX interface to DMXcontrol and it's possible to control them through the software.
    2. From what I've read the next step would be creating a cue-list (which are like 'scenes' on a traditional DMX controller).
    3. Then I would have to link DMXcontrol to the software running the midi sequencer so that both programs can communicate with another.
    4. Finally I imagine I would have to create a ruleset in DMXcontrol's midi manager to liink midi notes to specific cues from the cuelist.

Is that way of thinking correct and how do I route the midi data from Ableton Live to DMXControl 3 ?

I read that other programs like DMXis use a VST-plugin for this, is that also available for DMXcontrol 3?

• Souko

Approved the thread.
  • I´m a DMXC noob, but have done a similar thing with a different DMX Software (QLC). I´m evaluating DMXC and want to rebuild everything in it. And there are reasons why I would switch / take the effort. So here is my take:

- Novation Launchpad sends MIDI to Bitwig Studio via USB. Launchpad is used for finger drumming light scenes as well calling more static scenes.

- Bitwig (in your case Live) can record, edit, transform, playback MIDI data or even generate it.

- Bitwig forwards/sends MIDI to DMX Software using a virtual MIDI cable. I picked rtpMIDI, since that is also OEM´d by serious hardware vendors = proven.

- DMX recipient has MIDI Note to Scene Mapping.